• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

three hoots, hard to spot (1 Viewer)

stonefly4

I'm in Augusta County VA, on the skirts of the Blue Ridge Mountains.

I'm a trucker but have been home for a couple of months. This morning I heard a bird I don't recognize. I can't find him in the trees. He calls, I walk around and look, he stops. After a while, I hear the call in a different area, I approach, keeping my eyes peeled, then he stops.

I can't get a look at him.

What bird, in the springtime, in this area, calls out "hoo-doo-doot... hoo-doo-doot... hoo-doo-doot... hoo-doo-doot...? He will continue for several minutes. Then he moves.

The sound is very mellow and melodious, not raucuos at all. This bird does not make himself easily visible in the trees.

cuckoo?

Last edited:
Your bird sounds like a dove to me. I would guess a Mourning or White-winged (not sure if your county is inland or coastal). Both would be everywhere in VA, White-winged more coastal. The Cuckoo seems to have a raspier call.

I think Eurasian Collared-Dove is more likely in Virginia and your description of the song matches better than Mourning or White-winged.

Last edited:
Eurasian Collared-Dove sounds reasonable. White-winged Dove is casual at best in Virginia, probably not occurring every year.

Another for Eurasian Collared Dove. The call is exactly as you describe; I've been hearing it everyday this spring in my leafy Portland suburb. . ..

Well, almost went there. At least I got the dove part right.

Thanks for all the replies, but it doesn't sound anything like a dove.