• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Critique would be appreciated (1 Viewer)

DonB

Eastern Yellow Robin: Critique would be appreciated

I'm new to digital photography and until now have done little more than snapshot photos. I've just moved to the east coast of Australia and bought a Panasonic FZ-20 and am finding the bird life and the possibilities the camera opens fascinating.

This shot was taken in typical forest conditions here: fairly low light, about 10 metres away, very little time to aquire the subject and shoot. EXIF data is below.

Here's the cropped image in its original state and my attempt at improving it in PS. The rest of the image contains an extension of the branch in both directions and similar background.

I would appreciate any suggestions on how to improve the quality of the image, i.e. camera settings, cropping, post-processing...

Manufacturer: Panasonic
Camera: DMC-FZ20
Date: 11.12.2004 at 10:31:41
Aperture: f 3.7
ISO: 80
Shutter speed: 1/200 s
EV -0.66 EV
Program: P - Programmed auto
Metering mode: Spot metering
White balance: Automatic
Zoom: 72.0 mm Real
Resolution: 2560 x 1920 Pixel (Fine)
Picture density: 72 x 72 dpi
Compression: 4.0:1
Date Digitized: 11.12.2004 at 10:31:41
Exposure mode I: Auto bracket
White balance I: Auto white balance
Digital zoom ratio: 0.00x Zoom
35mm Focal length: 432 mm
Scene capture type: Standard
Contrast: Normal
Saturation: High
Sharpness: Normal
Image Quality: Fine
White Balance II: Auto
Focus Mode: Auto focus (AF)
Picture stabilisation: Mode 2
Exposure Mode II: Automatic

Thanks for taking a look,

Don

Attachments