• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Reference books on bird behavior, etc. (1 Viewer)

I am new to birding and realize that I abysmally ignorant about birds' life cycles, general habits, general behaviors, etc. Are there reference books that forum members have found particularly valuable in this respect?

"The Sibley Guide to Bird Life & Behavior" is an excellent book for what you are talking about. It starts off with about 120 pages on bird life and behavior in general, then has about 460 pages about the specifics for various North American bird families such as finches, herons & bitterns, thrushes, etc.

For basically one page descriptions of habitat, feeding, nesting and migration for each individual species, Kenn Kaufman's "Lives of North American Birds" is very nice to have.

I agree, the Sibley book is good. But be sure to back it up with plenty of time spent in the field, observing behaviour and habits for yourself - best way to understand what the reference books are talking about.

Brad

What an intriguing topic; I've been wondering about bird behaviour myself lately. It sounds like I want both of the above-mentioned books, but I am wondering which one would be better to have FIRST. I have a few questions about the books..

About the Sibley guide: is bird behaviour similar enough throughout a family that the guide actually covers a lot of the behaviour we'd typically see? is it set up well enough to be used as a reference?

About the Kaufman guide: what is it missing that the other book does well? what does it have that the other book doesn't?