• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sonogram ID (1 Viewer)

kimandsue

I am a beginner when it comes to sonogram creation and this is my first year of bat detecting! I can only assume looking at the peak frequency this is a noctule bat? There are very few sites I can find which show sonograms for ID using a FD detector. This has a decending three sweep pattern (I'm sure thats not how one should describe it! I'm unsure of the technical jargon for the pattern) Can anyone confirm if the sonogram pattern matches the Noctule bat?
Many thanks for your time and help
Kim

Attachments

• Copy of sonogram poss noctule.jpg
    Copy of sonogram poss noctule.jpg
    63.1 KB · Views: 279
Hi Kim,
The lowest line of signals at approx.20KHz looks good for Noctule in terms of the peak frequency. Difficult to say for sure without hearing the file, but if it had the "Chip-Chop-Chip-Chop" sound then probably was a Noctule. Did you see it in flight? They tend to be very high, fast and straight, with a wedge shaped tail.

I think the higher signals are harmonics of the 20KHz so can be ignored.

Also looks like a Soprano Pipistrelle at 55KHz on your sonogram just to confuse matters! Don't know enough about Pipistrelles to rule out a Pipistrelle's "social call" which might be at 20KHz? If you could post the wav/mp3 file that would be interesting.

Last edited:
Thanks for your help Peter I'm fairly certain it was a noctule it was high and large but flew fairly slowly. I know now to look at the tail shape! My duet was tuned at 45khz