• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help in recording birds (1 Viewer)

Alan G

I'm new to birding and am keen to keep records of all birds I've seen as a record - I know you all probably do this anyway, but I'm keen to make full use of IT for this, as well as a paper record.

Can I cheekily ask if anyone can forward me a copy of any Access or Excel database 'templates' that they use that will allow me to see what I've seen as well as when and where I saw it?

Thanks

Alan

Hi Alan, and welcome to the forum. I can't help with your request, because until recently the only birds I watched seriously were those in my garden, for the BTO GardenBirdwatch. I've only been out on 3 birding expeditions, and the way I list my sightings causes a serious birding friend to despair of me!

Elizabeth Bigg said:
Hi Alan, and welcome to the forum. I can't help with your request, because until recently the only birds I watched seriously were those in my garden, for the BTO GardenBirdwatch. I've only been out on 3 birding expeditions, and the way I list my sightings causes a serious birding friend to despair of me!

Well, you can't simply leave it at that :bounce:

I've so far, been on 3 myself and they're sitting in a scappy notepad until I find a good way of noting them electronically...........let's hope someone comes up with the goods for both our sakes?

:)

Alan

Alan G said:
Well, you can't simply leave it at that :bounce: