• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

dowitchers (1 Viewer)

herring99

Hi all,

attached (hopefully as it is my first attempt at this) is a picture i took two weeks ago on my honeymoon on the gulf coast of Florida. The bird was on its own on the sand in the evening, hence the quality of the image. It made no sound while i watched it and there were no others within scoping distance. I'm sure its a dowitcher but can't tell which one. Can anyone help?

All the best

Herring:stuck:

Attachments

• unk.jpg
    unk.jpg
    79.3 KB · Views: 305
Hello herring99.

Looks like a Long- Billed Dowitcher to me but I'm sure someone will tell me if I'm wrong. ;)

Billy Boy

Hi Herring,

Probably Short-billed, but that is only probable, not definite. Based on (a) the grey breast breaks up into freckles (rather than having a more well-defined edge to the grey), and (b) the fairly large amount of black on the underside of the tail.
Sandy coastal habitat also suggests Short-billed, they prefer tidal sites, Long-billed more on fresh water. But like everything to do with dowitchers, there's a lot of overlap in this, and I fear it is impossible to give a 100% accurate ident for it.

Michael

I fully agree with Michael, a positive id is impossible in this case though Short-billed seems the most likely.

Spud

despite having seen lots of Sb dows recently I'm still not totally sold boys.....flanks are a little heavily marked and the breast is rather dark compared to the sbilleds i saw, most of which were a good deal paler than this bird underneath and on flanks.