• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon camera and lens (1 Viewer)

S Crisp

I have been digiscoping for two years and I am now thinking about complementing this with a DSLR camera and telephoto lens. I have followed all the recent, different threads but find it very difficult to actually use this information to make a decision!!

I cannot afford to move into the ‘big league’ but I would be prepared to spend about £2000 on a camera body and lens. I am thinking of a Canon 7D or 40D and a Canon 100-400 f4.5 / 5.6 or a Sigma 150 – 500 f4.5 /5.6. I would welcome any comments or suggestions.

With your budget I would be looking at the 7D plus the 100-400 or the 400 f5.6. Some say that is a touch shaper. However most beginners I meet like the versatility of the 100-400. Especially at some of the main sites like Bempton, The Farnes and Donna Nook.

I am a relative new starter myself and have the 100-400mm lens and find it very good i think as Marcus said the 400mm 5.6 is probably a bit sharper but the zoom gives more versatility i do often use it at lower zoom for flocks of birds etc.

I have a 50D camera which may take you a bit out of budget but i'm sure the 40D or 7D are both very good and you wouldnt be dissapointed.