• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How was this year (2017) for British rarities? (1 Viewer)

birdmeister

United States
Hello all,

A bit of a dumb question here. I've been birding for at least 10 years, but only started following European and British rarities this year. It was fascinating for me to see how many N. American birds reach the opposite shores of the Atlantic (especially compared to European birds reaching N. America).

I'm curious to know how this year compares to others in terms of quality and quantity of rarities, specifically in Britain, Ireland, Scotland, etc...

I would think the Red-winged Blackbird, American Redstart, and Siberian Blue Robin would be obvious highlights (the latter not very "twitchable"), among many others.

In terms of Western Palearctic rarities, am I correct in assuming this was an exceptional year for the Azores?

Thanks very much, and good birding as always.

It was fascinating for me to see how many N. American birds reach the opposite shores of the Atlantic (especially compared to European birds reaching N. America).

Inevitable, with predominant winds blowing from west to east

In terms of Western Palearctic rarities, am I correct in assuming this was an exceptional year for the Azores?

Too early to say - the Azores have only been 'discovered' as a birding destination in the last few years, so there's no real idea yet what 'an exceptional year' constitutes.

]
Too early to say - the Azores have only been 'discovered' as a birding destination in the last few years, so there's no real idea yet what 'an exceptional year' constitutes.