• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Well-rounded pair of binoculars for wildlife/travel. Newbie here, help! (2 Viewers)

jordn613

Hey there,
I'm looking to buy my first pair of binoculars for a couple purposes, primarily for wildlife and travel:
Upcoming hiking in Colorado
Honeymoon in Costa Rica
Backyard birdwatching

That said, my budget is under $200, and I want binoculars that are lightweight and will be something I never think twice about bringing. Portability and compactness are important here.

I've done some cursory research just on Amazon and these are a few that seemed to check the marks.

Sightron SIIBL832 8x32 Binocular
Leupold 67725 Yosemite
Celestron 71332 Nature DX 8x42
Nikon 8217 Binoculars TRL Blazer
Nikon 8218 Trailblazer 10X25
Vortex Optics Diamondback 10x42
Bushnell Legend Ultra HD 10x 42
Bushnell Legend Ultra HD Compact Folding Roof Prism Binoculars, 10 x 25

Any of these far superior to the others? Far inferior? Any models I'm missing? What measurements (as far as optics go) are most appropriate? 8x_? 10x_? If there is a clear winner or model I should buy without hesitation, I'd love to hear it!

Thanks!

Last edited:
Heh, ordered them on amazon before you guys even answered, after I looked around the forums for a bit.

Will these be ok in rain and mist in Costa Rica?

Heh, ordered them on amazon before you guys even answered, after I looked around the forums for a bit.