• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

bird generations? (1 Viewer)

ehrodz

Does the concept of generations apply to birds? Aplomado Falcons were succesfully reintroduced to the South Texas area 17 years ago. In that period how many successive generations of falcons are there likely to be? Or does the concept even apply? Is there a comparable bird concept? Thanks.

I am no expert ornithologist. However it seems to me that yes there is sort of a concept of generations, especially in birds that take longer than a year to fully mature. I know we refer to our local bald eagles in terms of generations in a way.

Off the top of my head, I would think a “generation” in ornithology would vary from species to species depending on (average) age of first breeding. The great majority of small birds breed at 1 year of age so in their cases each year’s production of offspring would constitute a new generation. In other species--mostly large--which don’t normally breed until their 2nd , 3rd, 4th, 5th, whatever year, new generations would be produced at the corresponding multi-year intervals. But, having said all this, I don’t know if the term “generation” is used much in day-to-day field biology. Time, I think, for a professional biologist to come along & give us the facts.

Last edited:
I always love that 'Monarch Butterflies' take 4 generations - or something - to make their yearly trip. Kinda' trippy.