• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Whiskered Tern ? South India , December 2012 (1 Viewer)

Biju.P.B

Hi, would be greatful if someone can pour some light on the question.. regards, Biju

Attachments

• DSC_8382a.jpg
    DSC_8382a.jpg
    59 KB · Views: 125
It´s a very small tern. Little or Saunder ´s or another tiny species I don ´t know. I have no real knowledge of Indian birds.

Why would this not be Whiskered Tern? It's the commonest tern wintering in southern India according to my India books. It's the right colour for winter plumage - black bill with reddish legs and a grey/black cap. (Little has yellow legs and Saunder's brown, I think). It's small (23-29 cm compared with 22-28 for Little a/c Mark Brazil's book) and has a short tail.

White-winged Tern would also be a possibility according to the books, but I think this has a bigger black 'blob' behind the eye, and I think the legs don't show red like this.

The legs are wrong for Gull-billed, and it would look much chunkier, I think.

Some Whiskered Terns passed through my patch in central Japan last 1st October presumably blown off course by a major typhoon. They stayed on our pond for about ten days. (Not many pass through Japan, and then normally along the west coast, a long way away: scarce in Autumn, rare in Spring a/c Brazil; this was the first time for me to see them.)

The poster's bird seems to have a slightly larger bill, and a little less colour in the wings than the birds I saw, but but I don't see why it wouldn't be in the range of variation.