• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Identification of birds (1 Viewer)

S K Gudi

Hello everyone,

I am an amateur bird photography enthusiast. Can someone identify this pair of birds? Sorry for the poor quality of the snap.

Attachments

• DSC00621.JPG
    DSC00621.JPG
    342.2 KB · Views: 169
I am an amateur bird photography enthusiast. Can someone identify this pair of birds? Sorry for the poor quality of the snap.

Hello! Good to see your photos, I hope you shall post more in the future.

I surely can't ID them, but ... what a really striking pair of birds they are, lucky you for having them!

(*sigh* Another (sub-)continent I wish I could visit...)

;)

Hi S K and a warm welcome from me too.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I hope to hear about all the birds you see when out and about.

Pied Kingfisher

Here is a snap of Pied Kingfisher waiting to prey by a pond near an Indian village. Hope you guys like it.

Attachments

• Pied Kingfisher.JPG
    Pied Kingfisher.JPG
    451.1 KB · Views: 49
Spotted Asian Koel

Hello again. I think this is an Asian Spotted Koel. Snap taken while it was feasting on wild berries in a shrubbery near a beach in Western India. Have I identified it correctly? I have a video of this too.

Attachments

• P1010608.JPG
    P1010608.JPG
    278.1 KB · Views: 56
Greetings and a warm welcome to Birdforum.:t:

Coppersmith Barbets for sure. Saw them in Thailand last year.

EDIT: our posts crossed: yep that's an Asian Koel.

Rose Ringed Parakeets

This is how I captured a pair of Rose Ringed Parakeets at play on a window air conditioner.

Attachments