• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice needed for 1st time trip to Panama please (1 Viewer)

Hi all,

I'm new to BirdForum and it looks like a great place for helping me to plan our trip to Panama in Jan 2024.
We plan to start with 4 nights/3 days in the Gamboa/canal area and would really appreciate advice on:
1. The going rate for 3 mornings of bird guiding.
2. A recommendation for a bird guide who could do the 3 mornings with us.
3. Where to stay. We won't have a car and would prefer to stay somewhere with a restaurant on site or within walking distance. We would like to be somwhere where we can do some birding/ photography/exploring ourselves in the afternoon or evening and dan warch birds from a balcony. The Gamboa Rainforest Resort looks ideal on their website site but has very mixed reviews. The Summit Rainforest Golf Resort doesn't have any availability on the Saturday night according to their website. There don't seem to be a lot of other options.

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Hi all,

I'm new to BirdForum and it looks like a great place for helping me to plan our trip to Panama in Jan 2024.
We plan to start with 4 nights/3 days in the Gamboa/canal area and would really appreciate advice on:
1. The going rate for 3 mornings of bird guiding.
2. A recommendation for a bird guide who could do the 3 mornings with us.