• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Broke college student looking for binocular recommendations ( less than £100) UK (1 Viewer)

ButchP

United Kingdom
Hi,

Im a broke college student studying conservation. I really want some good quality binoculars to help me take surveys and improve on ID but buying seems very daunting for someone who knows practically nothing about them.

Im looking for something less than £100 and something I could maybe buy second hand too? Even good brands would help.

Any help? (sorry you probably get this question often lol)

Welcome to Birdforum. I hope you enjoy your visits.

Hopefully someone will be able to help.

Try your very hardest to find a local binocular shop. You will be able to make sure that they fit your hands and face - very important.
If you live near an RSPB reserve you will be able to get unbiased information about their own brand binoculars and no pushy sales. You will almost certainly be able to take a step out of the shop area (accompanied of course) for a decent view of the reserve

I volunteer for the RSPB in Cheshire
Puffin binoculars are good value for money but they are not fully waterproof but they’re £85

RSPB Avocet binoculars are waterproof and nitrogen filled BUT 8x42 are £150

Last edited:
Butch,