• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon 350D Lens advice please (1 Viewer)

Greenlion

Hi,I'm seeking advice on a good quality lens for my Canon camera EOS 350D. I've had the camera a good while now and only recently become interested in the wildlife in the garden. I got talking to a guy who has taken some cracking photos of birds however the cost of his lens is something I can only fream about. I do have a Tamron AF 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 lens but I find it doesn't get me close enough top the subject. As you can probably tell I'm a real novice when it comes to photography so would be glad of any advice you can give me but I should add that I'm on a limited budget,would buy second-hand from a reputable business if it has to be,thank you

Welcome to BirdForum

I think that if you can give an idea of budget it will be easier for people to give recommendations. I'd definitely recommend buying a secondhand lens, there are some great deals out there.

Lion,

The Canon 400mm f/5.6 is a popular budget lens. It is maybe £650 on UK ebay (about £1250 new). It does not have image stabilization, but as long as you keep the shutter speed up around 1/640 or above, you should be fine with practice. Or use a monopod. I understand it takes a 1.4x teleconverter well too. On you 350d, 400mm would be 640mm equivalent field of view, which is a respectable focal length for birding. it is also light weight for a long lens at 1.2kg (without tripod collar attached).