• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Citing nestboxes... (1 Viewer)

Kickingbear

England
i’m pretty new to this have posted stuff but it was on the wrong thread I think anyway I have just received two nest boxes and I’m wondering if I can cite them opposite sides of the same wooden post will put some pictures up would be grateful for any information....

Attachments

• 0737250E-E285-4995-8308-AC01746D9B46.jpeg
    0737250E-E285-4995-8308-AC01746D9B46.jpeg
    4.6 MB · Views: 9
  • 63C13C76-2000-4C2B-A7EB-BA0075C8365C.jpeg
    63C13C76-2000-4C2B-A7EB-BA0075C8365C.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 9
Two nest boxes together will encourage competition unless the occupants are House Sparrows. The post looks to be the end of a clothes line - this would mean disturbance to the nesting birds by regular human activity and the fluttering of hanging washing. Site one on the side of the garden shed and the other one as far away from it.

Oh....The thing is the shed is a gym and that is used quite a lot so now I’m not sure what to do hope I haven’t wasted my money....😒

What is the best way to attach one of the nest boxes to my cherry tree, because I believe you shouldn’t put a nail in the tree?
Tie it on with rope (two peices top and bottom)?.

Some thoughts from my own experience: