• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help - I've found a injured Juvenile Cormorant (2 Viewers)

Scooby384

United Kingdom
Hello Folks. new member, here initially for some help with an injured bird i have just found. At the risk of getting some grief from experts on this site I will offer that despite my age I am a novice with regard to birdlife although I have a lifelong passion for the welfare of animals. this morning, at work, i saw what appears to be a small perhaps juvenile bird hopping and trying unsuccessfully to fly across our car park. I watched it for a while, it made no effort to move from approaching cars. There was no obvious sign of parents or similar birds. I believe it to be a Cormorant. I am in Sheffield, about as far from the coast as one can get in the UK. I have captured and boxed and placed in a secure and isolated room to give to time to recover. It is ringed but I an not adept at handling the bird safely and checking same. In the absence of any positive suggestions, it is my intention to allow the bird to recover strength and give it freedom in a few hours time. I have not fed or watered it at this time. It is feisty so any injury may be restricted to its wings or it is simply tired. I would appreciate any advice please.

Hi Scooby and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators. Cormorants do breed inland, often on lakes where there are tall trees. We have some general guidelines here for the care of injured and baby birds.

You may find this site helpful for getting assistance to this bird.