• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello, BirdForum! (2 Viewers)

Georgebirds

United Kingdom
Good evening! I just thought I'd follow the site's friendly hint and post a little hello thread.

I'm not new to enjoying birds, but I'm new to birding, if that makes sense!

I've always spent a lot of time outdoors, from a country childhood, keeping native ponies as my hobby, a love of walking, and on top of all that I work as a gardener - I'm outside for far more waking hours than I'm inside. So I suppose I've grown up with a grounding in the everyday common birds in my area, along with a few exciting sightings of rarer birds which I've remembered ever since - I was the lucky child who found a golden oriole in my grandad's hedge, the spoonbill spotted from a car park while everyone else was fussing over tea flasks... right place, right time, and always more focused on nature than whatever else was going on around me. I'm still like that now, at almost forty!

A few years ago, I started writing down all the birds I saw in a year, which was fun and made me appreciate them all a little bit more - normally a moorhen or a partridge wouldn't be worth looking forward to, but when it was the first sighting in a new year, I'd be happier to see it!