• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help needed - suitable tripod (1 Viewer)

Hi,

I’m hoping someone on here can help me as I have very little knowledge, I have tried searching though existing threads but to honest I have no idea how they compare to my son’s camera - lens combination. I’m looking for a suitable tripod for my son for Xmas, I’ve tried ringing shops and asking their advice but they don’t seem to have specific enough knowledge of the most suitable. My son is the photographer he has just turned 13 so still very inexperienced but a good photographer for his age? He was finalist for young BPOTY with 3 of his photos, so can’t be too bad?

He has a Nikon D500 with a sigma 150-600 lens.

Price - cheap as possible, but most suitable.

Weight - nothing to heavy to carry for a strong man, he is quite big, strong and fit. (no idea how heavy they get)

Use - birds in flight, owls, osprey etc. Also stills so easy to turn.

Your help would appreciated greatly appreciated.

I am sure others will be along to make specific suggestions, but where budget allows, a tall (ideally) carbon fibre tripod with a gimbal head seems most popular with bird photographers.
Some indication of budget is helpful, as is your son's approximate height, as this will determine how tall a tripod he needs.
You will need something strong enough to take the weight (perhaps a minimum of 5kg loading capacity?) of the full kit which is unlikely to topple over.