• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

help with mounting plate & head for a circa 1993 85mm Swarovski (2 Viewers)

Tarh331_Dad

United States
Recently I acquired an old Swarovski CT-85 spotting scope, which I am told was probably manufactured around 1993.

I'm new to all of this, and I don't even know the correct terminology for much of what I'm imagining, but I can't seem to find anything which looks like a proper fit as a mounting plate for this scope.

In what follows, I also don't know whether it's a good idea to mix Spotting Scopes with photography hardware [from the likes of Manfrotto & Gitzo & Cullmann]; for all I know, maybe there's a separate and parallel astronomy industry which makes products roughly similar to the products of the photography industry?

Anyway, this CT-85 has a mounting surface which is about 1 & 13/32" long by 1 & 1/8" wide.

There are two "female" openings which are tapped to receive two different screw sizes: 1/4"-20 and 3/8"-16.

The centers of those "female" openings are about 9/16" apart.

The scope is rather heavy, and I very much want to use both screws [the 1/4" and the 3/8"] when mounting the scope.

I've looked at webpages until my eyes are about to fall out of my head, but I haven't yet found anything which promises to match these specs.

Some of the Manfrotto "hexagonal" mounting plates look like they might have a 3/8" hole in them [to accompany what appear to be 1/4" holes], but I can't seem to find any official Manfrotto engineering diagrams to confirm it.

My understanding is that I will need at least the following: