• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How many ....... Crows ........ have you seen? (3 Viewers)

I have gone to a few places in the Eastern US, that is it, so my list is kind of small:

American Crow
Fish Crow
Common Raven
Blue Jay
Gray Jay
Green Jay

My list only 11
Stellars's Jay (B.C.)
Gray Jay (B.C.)
American Crow (B.C.)
Carrion Crow (Germany)
Raven (scotland)
Rook (Germany)
Yellow-billed Chough (Alpine)(Bavaria)
Jackdaw (Germany)
Magpie (Germany)
Jay (Germany)
Clarke's Nutcracker (B.C.)

but then I'm new to this and only count what I photograph

Andy

oh I forgot Hooded Crow

Last edited:
It's surprising how many people here in the UK have got some stunningly rare birds on their list but are missing stuff that breeds here. I blame it all on the rise of twitching / ticking in the early '80s. It's nice to see that people do look at crows though :t:

Chris

There again, if you live on Hawai'i you're more likely to have seen Hawaiian Crow than Grey Jay ( sorry about the spelling of the last species - my fingers won't input an A. )

Can be luck of the draw though. In more regular terms (not uber-rarities!) I saw birds like Bittern, Bearded Tit, Marsh Harrier and Chough long before I saw my first Nuthatch or Brent Goose purely because I went to the places where I could see those before I went to the places the latter were found - became rather a sore point as I thought Nuthatches were brilliant and my brother saw lots but the best I managed for ages was to hear one in his local park.