• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I need a bird feeder? (1 Viewer)

tabwen

United States
I've been thinking about purchasing some bird feeders for my backyard lately but I don't know which ones to get, do you guys have any recommendations? I saw that some smart bird feeders have built-in cameras and can take photos of birds. I wonder if these smart bird feeders are useful?

In addition, I also made a questionnaire. Because I am a data scientist, I may be more concerned about the proportion of people who recommend using bird feeders. This can better help me choose what type of bird feeders to buy, and I can better observe birds in the backyard, and I can also provide food and protection for migrating birds.

Here is the link, I can't wait to know your answers.
link: Survey on Backyard Birdwatching and Bird Feeding Behaviors

Before buying bird feeders, you really need to know what sort of birds there are in your area that are likely to visit them. Have a look in the trees and bushes in your area, as well as any fields. Check out your neighbours and see if any of them have got feeders and what birds are using them.

Also remember that water is a big draw, especially in hot areas. They'll use them for both washing and bathing. If you have an old dustbin lid, or similar, you could turn it upside down and put water in it. See what comes, that can often bring quicker results than feeders, which can take birds months before they find them.

The feeders would need to be near to a shrub or tree that they can flee to if the alarm goes up that there's a raptor about.