• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Iphone & Phoneskope stuff - what am I missing? (1 Viewer)

MussEd

Before I start let me state I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Scopes and Phonescoping so be gentle!

Anyway I bought a Phone Skope kit for my Swaro ATS 65 to pair it up with my iPhone XR thinking I just shove it on, go out and take lovely close up shots that my 150-600mm zoom lens couldn't reach.

Reader - this has not been the case. I can't get the adapter to mount properly on the eyecup of the eyepiece...unless I somehow hold it in place it simply slips off. Not immediately, but gradually and slowly over a few seconds it works it's way off. Actually had to catch the phone with case and adapter on it's way to the ground yesterday.

I accept the trade off in image quality when it comes to dSLR v phone scoping (vignetting - using the phone's digital zoom etc) surely the purpose built kit sold expressly for the phone I have should stay on for more than 20 seconds? Is there something I'm missing? I did look at Swarovski's own bewilderingly expensive range of digiscoping accessories but I couldn't work out what I'd need to purchase let alone how I was going to afford it! Any tips from PhoneSkope iPhone users out there? I'm actually tempted to send it right back...