• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nectar feeder design question (1 Viewer)

becksnyc

United States
Hi,
I purchased a hummingbird feeder which is poorly designed, but past the return window. The nectar level is below where our male hummingbirds tongue can reach. I'd like to retrofit it, but need to know what regulates the level of the liquid. I'm not an engineer. :) If it's related to the depth of the container, I can change that, but if there's some interaction with internal air pressure, I'm out of my depth.
I can attach pics if anyone has this kind of expertise to share.
Thanks

Welcome to Birdforum. I hope you enjoy your visits.

I’m sorry I can’t help.

Hi, welcome to the forum. You might know this, but hummingbirds tongues are much longer than the beak would lead you to think, if the beak reaches the nectar it is fine. Can you post a picture of the feeder? And links are fine to share.

Hi, welcome to the forum. You might know this, but hummingbirds tongues are much longer than the beak would lead you to think, if the beak reaches the nectar it is fine. Can you post a picture of the feeder? And links are fine to share.
So, we have two bird feeders. A little male arrived about a week ago; I think he was raised here last year, so is under 1 year old.
He feeds daily at the back feeder (a different design). He tried on the front feeder on day 1 & 2, but after that only hovered briefly near it and moved on for the rest of the week.