• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to the forums! (1 Viewer)

LillyTr

Lilly, enjoyer of owls
United States
Hello, I'm Lillyanne, but I usually go by Lilly (she/her)!

I'm a recent graduate (BFA in Animation/Illustration) based in central California with a lifelong interest in animals. Specifically, birds, of course (seeing as how I've registered for an account here haha), but I have a particular fondness for owls due to the works of Kathryn Lasky. I initially read her series, The Guardians of Ga'hoole, back in 2008, and it was only after rereading the books at the beginning of quarantine did I realize "Oh wait, adult-me still thinks birds are really neat!"

Since that realization, I've been reading any paper I could get my hands on about avian biology and behaviors, and I have an absolute laundry list of books that I'd like to read as recommended directly from the r/ornithology forum on Reddit. While I will always be working to improve my own understanding of avian illustration/anatomy, my future goals as an artist are to create resources for other artists learning how to illustrate/depict birds as well. My current working project is a visual 3D library of the current extant genera under the order of Strigiforme, because, while I very much love the owls of North America, I would also love to see more depictions of less familiar species!