• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie & Geologist Posting From NE Kentucky (1 Viewer)

Ateamnm

United States
I just moved back to my home town, Greenup County Kentucky after living abroad and moving back from near Albuquerque New Mexico where I lived a few decades at 7000 feet in the Sandia Mountains. I now reside in the Ohio River valley in the tri-state region of Ohio/W. Virginia & Kentucky and have decided to make the best of things and create a BBB (Backyard Bird Biota). I am an amateur at best but have created a nice little habitat for a great variety of buddy birds, enough to invest >$300 in a pair of binoculars when I own a pair of Nikon that have served me for decades and incredible optics, just not good at 25 feet. Of course a few feeders, etc.

The issue is I love the Robin, a hunter, a stalker, a scrapper and worm eating machine, oh such a bad ass hunter. I have a nest, 4 eggs on the bathroom widow sill. One egg hatched, then @ 18 hours later the other 3 hatched, scrawny tiny awesome fledglings. I'm out of town working, wife reported all 4 are alive, moma and father are feeding prior to her going to work. Wife returns from work in the mid afternoon, all babies are gone. No disturbance to the rather large nest, window sill is @ 8 feet above the ground; 2 cats have been spotted patrolling. No feathers on the ground, no egg shells, no evidence of a fight. ??? Snake, other bird like a Blue Jay, 4-legged critter like a Racoon, feral cat, raptor???? What happened?