• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon Fieldscope III (1 Viewer)

Jacobbork

United States
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to birding and not very knowledgable about optics or gear, but I just got a second hand spotting scope. From what I can tell it is a Nikon Fieldscope III, 60mm, angled view with a 20x- 45x eyepiece.
I think the eyepiece got damaged in shipping(or the seller lied about condition). There is visible cracking in the glass and a loose ring inside that can sometimes obscure the view. I'm going to see if it can be repaired, but I was wondering if replacement eyepieces are available at all? And what I would need to look for to make sure a new eyepiece will fit?
I was also wondering if there is any way to look up the serial number to tell the year of production?
Thank you

Replacement eyepieces are widely available used and some can still be found new. Personally I prefer the fixed magnification wide field eyepieces to the zooms, but the zooms are good. Some of the newer ones will be marked with three magnifications, as they can be used on the ED82 ED50 as well as the 60mm Fieldscope.

thanks,
I guess I'm just a bit nervous about getting something used that won't fit. I've read on here that eyepieces for the fieldscope i won't fit the ii or iii, and that there are newer fieldscope models that also won't fit. Is there an easy way to tell what works? specific model numbers, etc?