• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nonbreeding Mallard or Hybrid? (Central FL) (1 Viewer)

SandhillCrane02

Call me Neil!
United States
So I've seen this duck around a local pond before and I was just curious, is this a mallard in between breeding and nonbreeding plumage, or is it some kind of hybrid? In general, is there a good way to tell the difference? I'm not very experienced with identifying ducks and potential hybrids, so anything helps really. Thanks!

Attachments

• P1230293.JPG
    P1230293.JPG
    5.6 MB · Views: 49
Was this photo taken with a cell phone? It seems to be over-emphasizing black colors a bit, so take the parts of my comment that refer to blackness with a pinch of salt:

There are (at least) two interesting birds in the photo.