• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Parabolic reflector and Sennheiser MKH20 – do they work together? (1 Viewer)

MikeOates

Hi, my first post, so it’s a bit of an introduction, but with some specific questions, sorry if it’s a bit long.

I have been making audio recordings for a couple of years, but of music and lectures, certainly nothing outside in nature. This is partly because my recording equipment is not very portable, i.e. a rack of equipment including a 24 track digital recorder and enough equipment to record a full orchestra. Anyway, I wanted to make some of my recordings much more easy to setup and lighter to carry, this would allow me to travel by train for example to a venue for simple stereo recordings. So I have just bought a Fostex FR-2LE.

Now that I have experimented with it and realised that I am now VERY portable, I took it outside to see what sounds of nature I could record. That’s when I suddenly realised that I need to change how I record and/or possibly get some other equipment. I tied using a Rode NTG-2 (Hyper-cardioid) with windshield and deadcat. I got far too much background noise and not enough gain for the subject I wanted to hear.

Firstly I would like to record using what I have if possible and buy as little as is needed to get started. I have got some very fine microphones, a pair of Sennheiser MKH20’s. Just the job in damp conditions, but not very good when you want to focus on a particular animal, bird or other natural sound. So I think the first thing I need is a parabolic reflector.