• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Photographing a Kingfisher (1 Viewer)

McHeath

Hi all!
I'm very new to the game of photographing birds, and I'm fascinated by it. I'm also completely new to photography. I bought a Lumix FZ300 a few weeks ago and have spent many hours both reading the manual and about basic theory, then just taking the camera out and trying to put it all into practice.
I've found a beautiful stream and want to attempt to photograph one of the Kingfishers which I often see there. Based on my present knowledge, I'd go about it the following way:
Position myself in the vegetation on a bend at the end of a longish straight stretch. Use a moderate zoom and manually focus on the middle of the straight. Shutter speed of 1/2000+ (?), aperture as wide as possible for depth of focus (?), and let the camera take care of the ISO. Mode on 4K start/stop; then just fire a burst every time I hear an approaching whistle.
I'd be very grateful for suggestions which could increase my chances of success!

Regards,
McHeath

Hi McHeath and a warm welcome to you from all the Staff and Moderators.

I'm sure you will enjoy it here and I look forward to hearing your news. I've no doubt someone will be along soon with some advice for you.

Hi McHeath, and welcome to BirdForum. 👍