• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Prism size in spotting scopes. (1 Viewer)

John goshawk

Scotland
Dear All,

When reading spotting scope reviews I often read that spotting scopes with large prisms help image quality.
Can anyone explain why this is?

Many thanks in advance.
John

Probably, the simple answer is to optimise the amount of light passing through the instrument to the eye. The larger objective = brighter image. Smaller prisms would result in a narrower light beam? Long time since I studied Physics I'm afraid.

Porro binos use large prisms to enable them to provide wide angle views, many old models were essentially “all prism” and not very lightweight.

Peter

Thanks for trying to explain it. What I'm often reading is scopes like the Celestron regal, sometimes are heavier due to the manufacturer using larger prisms which are used to provide better quality image?!

Hi John,

Could you supply links to some the reviews that claim the use of larger prisms provides a better quality image? I'm just curious as to what they are thinking.

Henry

Sorry I can't find them right now.It was mentioned in two reviews. One for celestron regal and another opticron scope. The answer seems to be to increase light transmission, via zero vignetting. It appears that sometimes vignetting occurs with smaller prisms without us knowing - provided a slightly dimmer image.