• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sometimes I think I'm laying out a smorgasbord for the Cooper's Hawks. (1 Viewer)

PumaMan

United States
I've been feeding the birds for 25 years now. I have four feeders, all within the same general area so I can view them out my den window: a regular seed feeder, a nyjer feeder for the Goldfinches, a suet feeder, and a hummingbird feeder. But several times a day the Cooper's Hawks fly thru and try to pick off a bird. They are sometimes successful, usually getting a dove. I don't begrudge them for this -- they have to eat too and they are magnificent birds. But sometimes I feel responsible for the demise of "my" birds . . .

ETA: The Harris's Hawks occasionally swoop down and try to pick off one of the rabbits that is cleaning up under the bird feeders.

Last edited:
I have the same situation here with Eurasian Sparrowhawk PM but it's only natural, here I've noticed that the greater the concentration of birds around the feeders, the more frquent are its visits, so on the recent heavy snowfall days a lot more tits (chickadee equivalent over here) came out of the forest to visit the feeders, young Mr Sparrowhawk just followed them!

The raptors are beautiful birds. Sometimes a Cooper's Hawk or Harris's Hawk will fly down and just sit in a tree next to the feeders for a half-hour. I guess just waiting for dinner.