• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sony Nex-6 (1 Viewer)

Charnwood

United Kingdom
Apologies for this basic question - I have little experience of the current state of the art digital cameras. I currently have a Sony Nex-6 (a hand me down from an elderly relative who was much more into cameras than me) which I am using with a 55-210mm Sony lens to take occasional pictures of birds in my garden. I'm wondering whether, given the age of the camera, it is worth getting a longer lens. Will a modern lens like the Sigma 100-400mm Contemporary work well with it or should I be looking at updating the camera?