• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Storm Desmond-let's rewild the bare fells (1 Viewer)

trw

I am no expert on water running off the fells but I had a conversation with a representative of English Nature just before the biblical floods brought to us courtesy of Desmond.
Giving them credit where it was due,I praised them for fencing off large areas of sheep-grazed fells in the Howgills,Borrowdale and Bannisdale-then planting thousands of trees.
Then,I expressed my frustration that groups like the Open Spaces Society and farming pressure groups had objected to additional rewilding in other areas.
I saw the benefits of scrub and plants growing which would help wildlife.The English Nature officer pointed out the additional benefit:the reduction in fast water run-off leading to flooding.
North West Water wanted to fence off an area above Thirlmere.At the moment it is steep grazing land.They hoped that once fenced off wild plants and shrubs would grow again.
Of course busy- bodies belonging to various pressure groups objected.The daftest protest was against'unsightly' wooden' posts and fences which would spoil the views!Other groups insisted that if it is open access land then human beings take precedent to wild animals-they should be allowed to wander wherever they like even if this reduces the chances of seeing anything up there,apart from sheep and sheep droppings.