• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Classick

Germany
Dear all,

I would like to introduce you to one of my “patches”. First of all, though, please bear with me that I am just a bird watching amateur and not a professional ornithologist – nor a biologist, for that matter. Also, I have not been everywhere in the area I am about to describe and I have not seen everything there is to see. All I want is to introduce you to this patch to show my appreciation for it and hopefully to show you something new.

Also, I have decided to break this up into several parts because … this description is a bit “longer”.

While we are only at the beginning of my description, things are already getting complicated. The whole thing I am presenting here is called a “Vogelschutzgebiet” (bird reserve) in German but also consists of various and not necessarily interconnected “Naturschutzgebiete” (nature reserves). Moreover, it is part of Natura 2000, a European Union network of protected areas. What I am getting at is the “Vogelschutzgebiet Haardtrand” in the southwestern state of Rhineland-Palatinate in Germany.