• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

White-feathered American Crow (1 Viewer)

Mac Faxer

Owl Rights Reserved
I spotted a white-feathered American Crow yesterday, hopped out of the car and clicked one shot before he flew off with his all-black cohorts. It appears that several of his primary feathers are pure white. Can anyone tell me the proper adjective for such a bird? Is it "melanistic" or "partial albino" or...?

(I hope the photo is attached - I'm new at this.)

Bert Kersey, Fallbrook, Southern California

Attachments

• Crow,White.jpg
    Crow,White.jpg
    89.4 KB · Views: 1,996
it is a partial albino, meaning that it has abnormally white feathers but it's whole body is not white just a portion of it.

melanistic is when the bird has an abnormal amount of black feathers.

nice find, i have yet to come across an albino bird (partial or not)

congratz :D

This is actually an area where there is a lot of disagreement over the terminology.

Some people would describe it as a partial albino.
Some would say that there is no such thing as a partial albino and describe it as leucisitic.
Some people would only use the term leucistic to describe a bird that was uniformly paler than it should be (but not white).

So take your pick!!

Albino's lack pigment, even in their eyes, hence there eyes are pink because you can see the blood vessels.
I don't really see how you can have a partial albino. As the famous phrase goes "it'd be like being partially pregnant".

Frenchy said:
Albino's lack pigment, even in their eyes, hence there eyes are pink because you can see the blood vessels.