• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

White-feathered American Crow (1 Viewer)

White Feathered Black American Crow (Picture)

Mac Faxer said:
I spotted a white-feathered American Crow yesterday, hopped out of the car and clicked one shot before he flew off with his all-black cohorts. It appears that several of his primary feathers are pure white. Can anyone tell me the proper adjective for such a bird? Is it "melanistic" or "partial albino" or...?

(I hope the photo is attached - I'm new at this.)

Bert Kersey, Fallbrook, Southern California

(I hope my photo is attached, I'm new at t his as well.)
I spotted a White feathered American Crow hanging around my house in Boxborough, Massachusetts for several months in the spring of 2002, as luck would have it I managed to snap a couple of photos of him which I've attached. He was a healthy, glossy young looking crow who obviously lived in the neighborhood.

Barb Blanchard, Bucksport, Maine[/FONT]

Attachments

• Black_White Crow 1.jpg
    Black_White Crow 1.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 276
  • Black_White Crow 2.jpg
    Black_White Crow 2.jpg
    131.6 KB · Views: 253
I think it's just one stressed out Crow!

Heck, take a look at a bunch of 40-something managers. We start getting white streaks from all of the un-realistic schedules.

James Lowther said:
see what i mean?....

Even though I post a heads-up that it's a thorny issue we still get people from both sides insiting they're correct!!!..... ;)

guys,
lets face it, there is no right answer,
both versions of the terminology are in use
that's all anyone can really say...