• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wich Tripod and head for a Zeiss Dialyt Scope? (1 Viewer)

Aquaplas

Austria
I have the Zeiss Dialyt 18-45x65 Scope and look for a Tripod that is stable enough for that scope and small enough to carry in my Backpack. I use the Scope in heavy terrain in the mountains, so the tripod must work here too.
I am new in scoping so I need some Tipps please.
Thanks.

Peter.

I have the Zeiss Dialyt 18-45x65 Scope and look for a Tripod that is stable enough for that scope and small enough to carry in my Backpack. I use the Scope in heavy terrain in the mountains, so the tripod must work here too.
"Stable enough" and "small enough to carry in my backpack" are mutually exclusive. You'll need to compromise. That the tripod "must work" in difficult terrain is another complication. How tough does it need to be?

In addition, there's some vital information missing: How tall are you? Whether you are, say, 1,60m, 1,70m, 1,80m or 1,90m tall makes a heck of a difference. Do you want to use it standing up or sitting on a rock? How much weight are you prepared to carry? Could you get away with a good monopod, if necessary leaning the monopod against some rocks?

BTW, what I use in the mountains or in difficult terrain are a Gitzo GT 1545T with an old Gitzo 2180 video head. Total weight 1,5 kg. Or a monopod (Monostat, sadly out of production) if I want to keep the weight down. I use angled scopes mostly though.

Hermann

I don’t use a tripod when hiking with my Zeiss Dialyt. I use my rucksack or a tree. Sometimes i use a rope. Swarovski makes