• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

camera settings for canon a95 (1 Viewer)

tiger3663

I'm a complete beginner. I have a canon a95 and an aspen ( cheap ) scope with 20-60 eyepiece. I've just ordered the baader adapter to connect them together. Firstly, can anyone give me some basic camera settings to get started and can anyone suggest a better scope that the a95 and baader adapter will attach too. I don't want to spend a fortune but if I get hooked and the pictures are excellent then who knows.

Any help would be really appreciated.

I'm a complete beginner. I have a canon a95 and an aspen ( cheap ) scope with 20-60 eyepiece. I've just ordered the baader adapter to connect them together. Firstly, can anyone give me some basic camera settings to get started and can anyone suggest a better scope that the a95 and baader adapter will attach too. I don't want to spend a fortune but if I get hooked and the pictures are excellent then who knows.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Tiger3663,
Here's the settings I use with the A95, they work very well.

Turn the mode dial to AV.
Press the FUNC button and select AWB, Continuous Drive Mode, ISO 50, Effect off, Spot metering, Large (L), and Superfine (S).
Press the FUNC button again to exit these settings.

Press the MENU button and select Flexizone, Red-eye off, AF Point, MF-Point Zoom on, AF assist Beam off, Digital Zoom off, Review 3 secs, Reverse Display on.
Then the most important bit, Save settings to C, this will put all the settings into C (custom) Mode, from now on use C Mode all the time.
Press MENU again to exit.