• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

ID help (1 Viewer)

boznia

This is my first post and I am seeking help on a bird I saw at Fowlmere Nature Reserve on a cold Saturday morning.

I saw lots of Redwings and Fieldfares and a ridiculous number of blackbirds, but one bird has got me stumped. I am new to birding so it may be be simple.

It looked about the size of a sparrow, had a yellow breast fading down to white at the bottom, there was also a small patch of darker feathers in the middle of the yellow bit of breast. It had a blueish grey head with possibly a small dark area around its eyes. I keep thinking it may be a fledgling fieldfare judging by the number of these birds around, but it did seem smaller.

Hope you can offer me some suggestions.

P.s. there was a pair of them, nowhere near the flocks of fieldfares.

Thanks for reading,

boznia

A difficult one and I need to do some more thinking but it is definitely not a young Fieldfare because of the size. These birds are quite big, really a fraction bigger than a Blackbird and not the size of a sparrow and would have had to fly in from northern Europe. So it's not one of them....I'm still thinking.

and I almost forgot in the effort of thinking.....welcome to the forum. You will find a whole bunch of very helpful people here from all over the world with a whole lot of knowledge on all things ornithological. I think you will enjoy the conversations and I look forward to more posts.

Colin of slight help

Last edited:
Welcome to the site Boznia :t: