• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Can someone tell me what these birds are that nest in the palm trees at UCT? (1 Viewer)

Adriaan

Hi everybody, I am not a bird expert so my question may refer to some obvious birds.

But I don't know what they are called and I need their name so that I can read more about them on the internet.

The birds that I am interested in are these small black birds. I would wager that they are 200 mm from beak to tail. They have these very striking orange feathers on their wings.

They live in this giant palm tree right outside my dorm room window (see the file attached). I assume they nest there but the tree's berries obstruct the view so I can't see for sure whether this is true. This is now on the Upper Campus of the University of Cape Town, on the slope of Devil's Peak of Table Mountain.

Some of these birds are very accustomed to humans. They will fly around the university campus, looking for food the humans have dropped, and sometimes they will even try to snatch food out of your hands while you're walking around here.

Some of these birds have these little tags on their feet, so I assume they are studied by some organization and that much is known about them. Does anyone know what they are called? I don't think they are very loved by most students here but nevertheless they are interesting.