• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Simple Questions about Experiences (1 Viewer)

billmell

Hi. I am new to BirdForum. I am a casual bird watcher on Califonia's north coast (in the redwoods with ocean 1/2- mile away) near Mendocino and on the southwest coast of Mexico.

My old Orion binoculars disappeared. Like many other, I am very frustrated by Internet info on new ones.

Instead of asking your opinions about specific models, I would like people who bought binoculars in 2004 who are very happy or sad about the models they bought to report the models, price (optional), and reasons for positive or negative. My main specs are simple: near focus 2m or less; list price under $300 with discounts to under $200; and, really good images. Thanks.
Billmell

Hello bill and welcome to Birdforum.net

I'm sure some folk will be around soon to give you the heads up on their particular bin purchases. For the record I just bought the new Zeiss 8x42 FL's, and I don't have anything negative to say about them!

Regards

Greetings Bill - and welcome to the forum!

Most of what I purchased in 2004 were high-end binoculars with price tags between $500 and $1000, but I did purchase 2 pair that might be in your price range or slightly more expensive.