• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hummingbirds (1 Viewer)

southernmistie

I am new to all of this so please forgive if I do this wrong. I live in Corpus Christi, TX. This season is my first ever to place Hummingbird feeders on my back patio. OK!!!!! I am hooked. It has been such fun to see the numbers increase as time goes on. Yesterday my husband and I were on the patio and there were at least 7 at a time flying in and through out the patio area. It was surprising how close they would fly by while we were standing there taking it all in. My question? Is it true at some point at the end of the season, when they are leaving for the winter months should we take the feeders down? I was told if we leave them up they would not go and possibly stay in the area causing negative problems during the winter months. Is this true? Is Corpus Christi so mild during the winter months that they are with us the whole year? If anyone could help me with questions please reply. Thankyou!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi southernmistie,

From all the BirdForum Moderators and Administration, Welcome!

We are glad to have you join us in our appreciation of nature, especially wild birds.

We hope you find this site enjoyable and rewarding.

You do not have to worry about any negative effects of leaving your hummingbird feeder up for too long. The hummers know when to leave your area and they will do so, whether the feeders are there or not.