• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swaro 7 × 50 SLC (1 Viewer)

Nick Elliston

My local optic shop has a second-hand pair of 7 × 50 SLC for £399. Don't know how old they are but from the window they look in good condition.

A few questions for anyone who does/has used them:

1. Are they good? Assume they are as they are Swaro

2. What are they like for birding as they look rather heavy?

3. Do you think they are better value than a new pair of say Nikon 10 × 42SE?

Any advice gratefully received.

Nick

Dear Nick,

I have no experience of either the 7x50 SLC or the Nikon 10x42 SE, but I do own a 7x50, which I would not regard as very useful for bird watching. 7x50's are good for marine use, for astronomy and maybe for hunting, at twilight.
I would also point out that for twilight and dusk, the 10x42 SE may be better. A 10x42 has a twilight factor, a rough guide to twilight performance, of 20.55, while the 7x50 has a twilight factor of 18.71. However, I cannot hold any ten power binocular steady, except for a limited time, when kept level.
Therefore, you should carefully examine each for stability, eye relief, fatigue and comfort of view. Binoculars are rather personal.

Happy bird watching,
Arthur Pinewood

Hi,

let me please disagree on this one : i use myself a quite old pair of 7x50 swaro, they are heavy and have a narrower field than SLC do, but the exit pupil is wide and the view is very comfortable. moreover, the low magnification helps in cold weather when you'd shake 10x too much to see anything.
i use them especially for owling, and the brightness is better than 10x42