• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Juvenile gull (1 Viewer)

jimk

several juv Sabine's gulls have been reported at this local lake and I am wondering if this is one.

Attachments

• IMG_8465.jpg
    IMG_8465.jpg
    30.1 KB · Views: 189
Last edited:
Yep, I'm inclined to agree with James - the partial white eyering in particular make me think Franklins. Now all I want is to find one on this side of the Atlantic!

Yes, I did wonder. I've no experience of juv. Franklin's either, hence my slight tentativeness. I found it a difficult photo to assess and wasn't at all sure that, with a closer, sharper view, the mantle wouldn't turn out to be scaly after all. Some photos of distant juv. Sabine's on the net don't show the scaliness properly and I thought the primaries in Jim's photo looked a bit long for Franklins. But I'm more than happy to bow to those who know what they're talking about!

Actually, I don't know why I couldn't see it last night, but in daylight it's obvious that the bird has a grey, first-winter mantle developing. That surely rules out Sabine's at this time of year.

Incidentally, can anyone point me towards some photos of juv Franklin's Gull? I couldn't find any on the net.

Last edited: