Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Old Monday 27th March 2017, 08:35   #1
MUHerd

Essential Apps and Media for Birding...What Are They??

Hey all,

I am new here and wanting to start birding. I have a degree in Zoology, but I didn't get to focus on birds at all. Now that I am interested in starting, I wish I would've.

What I'd like to know is what media and/or Apps do you all have that you consider to be essential for all Birders to have? Do you carry an Audubon Field Guide with you when you go Birding? Are there any apps that have the birds of North America or Texas that I should have on my Iphone?

I would assume those of you that are serious about Birding would carry a nice field notebook and pen to record the info for the day, where you went and what you saw.

What can you recommend that I get that will help me get started in ID'ing the birds that I am going to see here in the Houston area? What do you have that you find helps you out a lot?

Thanks for your time and any help you care to give me.

Larry
Old Monday 27th March 2017, 09:54   #2
Nutcracker
Northumbrian

No Apps are essential - birders have got along without them perfectly successfully for the last 300 years, and can still do now

Books - yes, they are essential. For the USA, you want to get the Sibley Guide and the National Geographic Guide. Read them cover to cover, and memorise the details.

PS Welcome to Birdforum!
Old Monday 27th March 2017, 10:13   #3
MUHerd

Thanks for the info....