• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Call for contributions: Collecting Evidence for Lack of Progress in Sporting Optics (1 Viewer)

Omid

United States
I wanted to name this thread "The feature Leica Super Ultravid HD Plus Plus" to attract more attention but I decided that a more direct headline might be good enough ;)

I am an engineering scientist, a hunter and a big fan of sporting optics. I have been a member of this forum for nearly 10 years. I have owned and used many fine binoculars and scopes and I still own a few. My first top-level binoculars were a pair of Zeiss 8x56 B/T* Night Owl. After that I have owned many other great glasses including Swarovski 8.5X42 EL, Nikon 8x32 HG, Leica 12X50 BN, Fujinon 7X50 Polaris, Zeiss 15X60 BG/A Classic, Leica 8-12X42 Duovid, etc. Most recently, I have bought a pair of Leica Trinovid 10X50 BA binoculars which I have mentioned on a separate thread.

Over the past few years, I have lost my yearning for NEW binoculars that are being developed and marketed by Zeiss, Leica, Swarovski and Nikon. I attend SHOT Show regularly but I no longer feel excited to go and visit these companies "new products" :( What I have seen in the past 10 years, is the trend towards cheaper material/packaging (e.g. no more chic leather cases), less customer choice (e.g., no more green and black armor colors, just black) and making a big hype over very superficial improvements (e.g., X coating vs Y coating).