• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tripod and head suggestions (1 Viewer)

parambyte

Hi!

This is my first oost here and I am very new to bird photography.

I have a nikon D800 and the new Nikon 80-400G lens. I am looking for a suitable tripod option.

I have kind of narrowed down on Gitzo Carbon Fibre tripods and a Gitzo head.

Can anyone suggest which ones? Should i go for a ball head? I feel it may be difficult to quickly align because the head will have a tendency to move in unwanted directions any suggestions? Also on the legs. Which one? I am 5 feet 9 inches tall, if that helps.

Gitzo has a new range called Safari. Is it suitable for bird photography or just bird watching? Anyone has an experience on this?

I want my equipment to be future proof. It should work with longer lenses in the future.

You will find that a Gimbal head works best for bird photography, especially if you intend to future proof it with longer lenses. There are several makes of Gimbal's that are good these days with Wimberley or Jobu being the most popular I guess. One word of warning with the Gimbal is that ones that will support the longest/heaviest lenses are not always the best choice for a light weight lens like the 80-400. Jobu do a junior Gimbal which would be ideal for a light weight lens like the 80-400 but would not be any good for one of the really big telephotos.