• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Binocular for scanning the bay (1 Viewer)

Super Dave

Aloha,

I live on Kaneohe Bay (across from the Marine Base) on Oahu and would like to get a new pair of binos for checking out the action on the bay from my lanai.

I thought my 1993 Nikon 10x25 Mountaineer's were great until I purchased a pair of cheap West Marine 7x32 binos for sailing. I like the West Marine's much better for the brighter picture and wide field of view. I was surprised that the 7 x power is plenty strong.

I'm trying to learn about the technical aspects but...I'm a total novice...so here's about all I can offer for guidance:

Cost: Few hundred dollars or less. Less is better since I have the feeling this is a new interest and I'm in the trial and error stage.
New or Used: I'm definitely open to older binos...sounds like you can get some really nice stuff for reasonable prices.
Waterproof or not: Waterproof is nice but not a deal breaker due to a covered lanai. There is a little salt in the air but it's not too bad. These will be strictly for the house.
Size: doesn't really matter since they will be used for short periods of time and won't hang on my neck.
Wide View: Wide view seems like a plus
Power: 7 or 8 should do it. I have a spotting scope if I need to zoom in.

Attached is the view. The Marine Base is on the left side of the first photo. The person paddling is my 80 year old neighbor...he's a stud. Can you find the ducks in the first photo? Ducks have it pretty easy in Hawaii. The second photo is looking towards Kailua.

Thank you very much,
Dave

Attachments