• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bird Guide Books (1 Viewer)

tigglestiger

I am fairly new to birding and the main problem I have is identification.

I have the Collins Guide which is excellent, however I think it almost covers too many species when I am trying to identify most UK birds

Does anyone have any recommendations for any 'simpler' guide books?

I am fairly new to birding and the main problem I have is identification.

I have the Collins Guide which is excellent, however I think it almost covers too many species when I am trying to identify most UK birds

Does anyone have any recommendations for any 'simpler' guide books?

I quite like Dominic Couzens; Birds by Behaviour but it seems to be out of print.

The Macmillan Guide to Bird Identification by Harris, Tucker and Vinicombe is probably the best one to have alongside the Collins guide, as it largely sticks to regular UK species. Unfortunately it is also out of print but they come up for sale regularly.

RSPB Pocket guide, it is simple and easy enough to understand and is what I used and only used, no need for over complicating things with pricey books when ultimately if you are stuck you would turn to the internet.

Why not give yourself a project with the fab Collins? Memorise the 200 or so commoner species and maybe the regular scarcities by name and family placement - you will then be able to quickly find them in the book and it will help you know when you find something truly unusual.

Thank you all for the advice -if ever in doubt i can turn to the internet as 'thebirdgarden' suggests.